top of page

Return of the Banks


They are finally at the school for good! This is not to say they are finished completely- there is still work to be done as far as connecting them to each other and the base and of course, adding the "fact" labels to them. The facts, by the way, are probably 90% complete; here is a photo of them, ready to go in as soon as whatever area they will be attached to is complete:

I've moved my work back into the garage for now, and hopefully that will be where the remaining portion of the structure that can be done offsite will be finished. I never thought it would take this long to complete this project....woefully underestimated the work involved with the structure, but as a glance at the hours above indicate- I've now spent more time on the habitat (which I judge to be 40 - 50% done) than I did on the mural. I've made my new goal of completion the end of this summer; striving once again to have it ready for the kids when school starts a new year.

To accomplish this, I've broken down the remaining work into stages and plugged those into the calendar to come up with deadlines for each phase. I hope I've been realistic about the time to complete them, but we shall see.

At any rate, for those who may follow this blog but not get the chance to visit, here are some closeups of some of the inhabitants of the banks:

Stages of an oak tree

and in case you've been wondering what that large white root on the end bank is for, here is what that root will connect to:

Not in the bank is a fellow that I alluded to in my last blog, the guy that needed the skin off that fake rat.

I think he looks very comfortable in his crevice.


Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page