top of page

A Way overdue update!

Well, I have a lot to catch this blog up on (compare the hours for the structure from the last blog!) ...so here goes: The bank on the right is finally complete and everything is ready for the plexiglass "water" to top it off. This will complete everything from the cliff to the right. The slideshow photo is new that shows the entire case; I haven't updated that often enough simply because I've had so many supplies and tools in there, it wouldn't be easy to clear everything out for a shot, then pile it all back in. But I've cleared out the case except for some delicate birch branches that I didn't want to move more than necessary, so time for an updated complete shot! Check it out under slideshow but I'll add it here as well:

I had to look back at the last blog to see what was new now and see I have to show you the completed badge bank and detail....here it is from the front of the display:

and here it is from inside the case....this also shows the completed stream and all of it's details:

The stream bottom is a painted canvas that has been glued to the plywood floor of the case. I wanted to create as much depth as I could, trying to give the impression of some depth and drop off of the bank. I'm never 100% satisfied with any of my work, but I was happy enough with this. The large rock is one of 5 or 6 I created around a sturdy base of wood, in this photo you can see the top of the rock doesn't quite match the bottom. This is because it is a separate foam piece that will sit on top of the plexiglass, giving the impression of a rock poking up out of water. The reason the rock has a wood base is so when the glass of the case needs cleaning, those rock tops can be removed and a wood plank can be laid on the bases to provide a walking platform. At least this is our hope...we will need to test out the theory before laying the plexiglass in!

The fish have been created by an extensive trial and error method of casting. Some are plaster, some are clay...I learned a lot about how to create a mold! I used our original fish to create silicone molds and cast my schools of perch, panfish and shiners....my favorite are the panfish. If you look closely at the back wall on the left side of the cliff, you will see a northern pike I painted on the wall, lurking by the beaver dam! I felt obligated to add him since someone found a fact about northerns ...and also to keep those smaller fish in line! Here are some closer shots of the fish:

and a full shot of the stream bed:

Speaking of facts, I also had some interesting facts about wolves, moose, mountain lions and elk. So I've painted these guys into the background as well. To come....I will need to add a porcupine, probably perched safely in a tree.

Another part of the case that is new are the additions around the cliff. We added several hawks and since we had one in action decided to have them arguing over a large green snake.

Two closeups I didn't take was the bobcat in position and the Canada goose flying in, but here is the bobcat before we added it right below the two fighting hawks: He is now reclining regally on his very own ledge.

Well that's it for now. Next blog I will show you the setup in the pole barn where I will complete the pieces "in position". When we cleaned out the tools and supplies, I created a paper template of the remaining floor area and brought it home. It is laid out on the floor of the pole barn so I can fit the pieces correctly together for the rest of the display and make sure they will fit once installed at school. Next time I will show you the completed beaver dam!


Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page